A little bird on the wing

 

One of my young friends at work has been eagerly anticipating a trip to Texas to see her boyfriend graduate from basic training for the Navy.  The past 8 weeks have flown by–probably for the rest of us but not for those two.  We have all watched her cope with his absence, and have tried to be supportive of her and listen when she wanted to talk about it.

She has picked out a really sweet little (LITTLE) dress to wear to the graduation ceremony, which she will attend with the young man’s parents.  They are travelling together from here, and I would think will use the travel time to become more comfortable with each other.  Jessie is a petite slip of a girl and her somewhat smallish dress will look beautiful on her, but I thought she might want some sort of shawl or wrap or something in case the event is more formal than she was expecting, or if the evenings in Texas might have a slight chill.  We are northern people up here, we expect to be chilly everywhere!

If I had thought of this sooner, I would have considered knitting her something lacy, but as time has been a bit tight lately, I decided to sew something instead.

 

At first I thought a piece of sheer white fabric was going to be perfect, but the more I looked at it, the more I thought that sheer white draping over a white dress was just too bridal-like.  In a moment of panic I started looking around the sewing room and found this soft pale pink that is just perfect.  Jessie is definitely a pink girl.

 

 

I will say that when I gave it to her, she was pleased, but did not seem to know what to do with it.  I showed her how I would wear it–sort of draped in the crook of the elbows, and either she did not like it, or was embarrassed, or just confused I don’t know.  She thanked me and wrapped it back up and put it back in the box.  I’m hoping maybe her mother will show her what to do with it.  It is certainly okay with me if she does not bring it or wear it, I think I really just wanted to give her something for her trip.  Something to say, “We support you and everything will work out fine”.

 

 

2 thoughts on “A little bird on the wing

  1. What a beautiful shawl and a wonderful act of friendship. I am sure that she loves it and just is not used to the kindness. The lace is so pretty and i am sure will be beautiful with her dress.

Leave a Reply

