In the egg trade

This is the second month that I have traded fiber for eggs.  You can read about my first fiber for eggs trade here.  I hope this continues to work for the person I am trading with.  I ran out of eggs two weeks ago and several times almost bought a dozen at the grocery, but I do not want to eat those eggs anymore.  I really want to stick to my trade.  I want to eat the healthy, local, humane eggs, and I want to keep buying them with spinning fiber.  So I put the cartons back each time I picked them up.  And I think I am more appreciative of them today (it was scrambled eggs with my own sauteed zucchini and summer squash for lunch) for not having had any for so long.  I think this is really what eating locally means.  If your choices are either going without something, or purchasing an inferior quality/product that traveled a thousand miles to get to you, then maybe not having any of that thing for a while is the better option?  I wish that I could have more things that I trade for.

I made up a blend of fiber that I am calling August Sunflowers.  It was a mix, about 50/50 of wool and alpaca.  The brown is the wool and the colors are hand dyed alpaca.  I might have made enough for myself too.  Both batches were about four ounces.

There is really more yellow in these batts than is showing in the photo.  I like that I am accumulating boxes of batts for myself too.  I have been setting them aside wrapped in tissue and in boxes–with content labels so I won’t have to guess later–and am working through some other things first.  But it is fun to think of them as batts in the bank for a rainy (more likely snowy) day.

Thanks to Diane for the eggs!

p.s.  I forgot to mention that I received four dozen eggs–that is what we thought was fair–four ounces of fiber, for four dozen eggs, once per month.

4 thoughts on “In the egg trade

  1. Not having a very long “remembery” , when spun, how many ounces does a “batt” make? or does it depend upon the spinner? Just curious.

    • Eggs-selent Question. A batt can be however big you want it to be, or however much your drum carder will hold. There is no set unit of weight for a batt–just whatever you put into it. Batt just means the pile of fiber that you take off your carder. My drum carder comfortably holds about 3 oz. Since I think 4 oz is the minimum you might want to spin to make something like socks, I usually make 2 two ounce batts of the same color blend. Once spun you will get the same ounces of yarn as you had of batt, but the yardage will depend upon how thick or thin you spun it.

Leave a Reply

