Tie dye, sort of

This is another project I worked on at Flagstaff Tuesday.  I saw this on line here.  This is a sort of pseudo-tie dying project.  Chemical-wise it is much milder and safer than tie-dying.  And portable.  I brought this to the lake and worked on it at the picnic table.

The markers are permanent Sharpie knock offs from the dollar store.  And a bottle of alcohol.  The t-shirt and the mens long underwear were new and from the dump.  So this was a $2 project.

The plastic cups are put under the t-shirt and a rubber band stretched over the rim of the cup.

After you make some kind of design, alcohol is dripped onto the surface, the colors sort of smear around and blend together.

The unders are for Ug and he will be so happy you know that.  I think he would have been happier if they were dyed black, but oh well.

I really like the way the t shirt came out.  Full on tie dye is really too much color for me.  I like the water color effect of this though, and the smaller area.  You can’t see it, but there are a couple more spots of color on the back, and around one on the back I wrote in green marker “Flagstaff 2012”.

These two items are supposed to be washed in hot water separately, but I do laundry at the laundry mat, so a ($3) load for two pieces is not going to happen.  I am going to heat them in a stock pot on the stove instead.  Not hot enough to simmer, but hot enough to set.  I figure if the colors run, it cost me $2.  Period.  Fine with me. If the colors set well, I would like to try a few more, with different combinations and placements of circles.  It was fun and easy to do.

5 thoughts on “Tie dye, sort of

    • thanks. I agree, great for kids. They can just color to their own ability, then watch as the design changes with the alcohol. Instead of a dropper, I think a spray bottle for the alcohol would be easier.

  1. Love the colors too! And if it runs, how knows…..modern art?
    Do you ever slow down? You are a creative whirl wind.

  2. Let us know how it goes with heating and setting the colors, or if they run. I really like this idea. Love the guy’s underwear!!!

Leave a Reply

