Cheatin’ and Dyein’

I’m cheating today.  I was supposed to be waiting for a lot more stuff to get done before doing any dyeing.  I have lots of house chores to do today, so naturally I am looking for other things to do.  There is no more efficient way to get stuff done than by doing other stuff.  p-r-o-c-r-a-s-t-i-n-a-t-i-o-n.  So to make my kitchen chores more interesting, I am dyeing one batch, ONE BATCH I tell ya, of roving.

This roving was given to me by one of my bosses–Donald Tranten–who used to have sheep.  I forgot to get the type of sheep from him.  But anyway, he gave me almost 2 pounds (that is a lot in roving terms) of beautifully soft roving. GAVE.  I have been looking at it and squishing it for months.

So this is just the first teaser for today.

A warm water soak with a glug of vinegar.  The wool needs to be wet all the way through before adding dye.  If there are dry spots, the color won’t soak in correctly.  It would leave white spots.  Sometimes you might not mind this, but today we want the color to take well.  The vinegar does something to the water and wool to make them get along better.  Since the wool has lanolin in it (basically waterproofing oil), the water and the wool do not really want to get together.  The vinegar helps with the water absorption.

Check in later for something more interesting than white wool in water!

Leave a Reply

