Lending Library at the Laundry

I work for the Tranten family in Kingfield, Maine.  Here in Kingfield, we have a grocery store, a laundromat, and a convenience store. http://www.trantens.com/  It is the convenience store that I work at.  The laundromat is next to the grocery store.  I thought it would be a good place to have a book swap.  It really took about a month for people to get the idea of what to do (i.e, bring in their own books for it).  At first it was just me bringing in books from my own collection that I was getting rid of.  I had, previously, been bringing them to either the thrift store or to the  transfer station, but I thought this would be a nice way to share them.  After a while, other people started bringing in books and magazines too.

We have libraries up here, of course.  But since they are staffed by volunteers and not by professional librarians, they are not open very much.  Kingfield library is only open 8 hours per week, 4 hours each on Wednesday and Saturday, and New Portland is open 8 or 10 hours per week, but something like 2 hours in the afternoon 3 days per week and a few hours on Saturday.  Disgraceful if you ask me.  To get to a real library with daily regular hours with librarians who are paid for their work, we have to go to Madison.  Actually, this is funny…..since we are not from Madison, we would have to pay $10 per year for a card at that library.  When I told the librarian how few hours our libraries are open, and what a shame I think that is, she gave me a card for free.  Good for her!

So this is our little book swap.  Every once in a while I go through my books and pick out the ones I either didn’t like or don’t want to keep, or have duplicates of and re-stock the shelves.  Sadly, it does often degenerate to just romance novels.  I very snootily feel that I bring in at least some classics and some more meaty reading than that horrible romance junk.  Should we be horrified that this is what people are reading, or at least satisfied that people are reading at all?

Since part of my duties at the gas station are to tidy up and lock up the laundry at night, I keep the shelves organized, and find that I often throw out the religious tracts that people insist on leaving there.  Anyway, my contribution……

2 thoughts on “Lending Library at the Laundry

    • The shelf was one that we had in our little store, but it was being moved out to be replaced for something else. I had asked a couple of times for shelves in the laundry mat, but they never materialized. So me and one of the other girls took that one over on the dolly. It was going in the trash otherwise. There was a sign that I made for it, but I think that must have fallen behind or something. I’ll have to make another one.

Leave a Reply

