My Friend flickr

I learned a valuable lesson losing my computer.  I had not backed up my photos.  Sad but true.  Sensible people do this, I think.  I had not.  Why waste time making a copy of something that will never get lost?  Right.  I did  have some of my older photos on a disc, (somewhere), when I had my previous old junky computer transferred to the laptop, but I did not do that, someone else did.  So I probably have about half of my photos.  Which is probably the half I would  choose to save if I had to pick.  The newer ones mostly pertain to this blog.  So this will serve as record for some of the things I thought important enough to photo.  I’m sure there are some in between that are lost forever.  Or, I can go back to the computer fix it people and get them.  But anyway……the lesson that I learned is to back up stuff.

Today I was awake at 6am.  Sunday morning, 6am.  But Sunday is my day off, so getting up that early is like having a super long day off.  Anyway, this morning, while writing that other post from today, I did some research about on-line photo storage.  This is something I had never done before.  I knew it was out there, and probably a good idea, but never explored it.  When you store your photos on-line you have lots of options of what to do with them.  Keeping them on discs in your desk drawer is probably a good idea too, but on-line seems more versatile and more easily accessible.

Some of the sites I looked at were flickr, picasa, photobucket and snapfish. flickr http://www.flickr.com/  seemed to be fairly easy to use, so that’s what I went with.  The photos currently still in my camera are the ones of the GAP yarn that I wrote about earlier today, so I used those as a trial.  I had already copied them into “my pictures”, so from there they easily went into flickr.  I was able to keep them together as a “set”, and can work with them from there if I want to.  I would be able to add to that set too, once I have photos of the finished project.

Once photos are saved on-line, I can access them from anywhere, not just from this home computer.  I also had several options about what to make public and what to keep private.  I guess a lot of people would have lots of stuff public, for friends and family to look at the latest pictures of baby or vacation or whatever, but I think that for now I will keep everything on private until I figure out what I’m doing.

If anyone has an opinion as to any other photo sharing site that they like better, for ease of use or storage capacity, etc, please feel free to let me know.  I really wish I had done this sooner.

Leave a Reply

