All done!

I finished this yarn last night.  It has been washed and is hanging to dry.  Once it is dry I will show it to you.  It is always an interesting feeling to finish a yarn project.  About 2/3’s of the way through I just want to get to the end, just to get through it.  And it seems like it will go on forever.  But then once it’s done, it makes me wonder what all the fuss was about.

This is the bobbin once it was full of the plied yarn.  And it turns out that the two spindles were almost even.  There was maybe only a yard or two left on one once the other had run out.  Not bad I think.  Even if I had weighed those spindles and made them exactly the same weight, the yardage might still be different.  One could have been spun slightly finer than the other, resulting in a slightly longer single.  And anyhow, I don’t work like that.  It will come out even or it won’t.  But I’m not going to fret about it along the way.   I will try to come close, but otherwise it’s not worth the worry.

This is a niddy noddy.  I know you were just on the edge of your seats waiting to see it.  What a name, eh?  A niddy noddy is used for making a skein of yarn, and to measure it as it comes off the bobbins.  Mine is 1 1/2 yards.  Some are 2 yards, some smaller to make mini skeins.  So on mine, one complete trip around the ends is 1 1/2 yard.  Count the trips round, times 1.5 is how many yards in that skein.

When I got this the wood was really light.  From use, from lanolin in the wool, from the oils in my own hands, the color has darkened.

This is the yarn wrapped around the niddy noddy.  There is too much glare on the yarn.  It was late last night.

The ends of the yarn are tied to the yarn to keep it from tangling once off the niddy noddy.  This is the yarn right off the niddy noddy.  It still needs washing and hanging.  It is really a pretty balanced and even skein.  I can tell this because sometimes when I take a skein off the niddy noddy, if it is over spun it will curl and spring right up on itself.  Again the color is odd because of the lighting at midnight!

So from a 2 7/8 ounce batt, this is 145 yards +/- of yarn.  It is probably a sock weight yarn.  My knitting knowledge is not sufficient to  be able to estimate what I could make with this.  My mum will have to give suggestions on that.

This is the finished yarn.  It is still a bit damp, so I hung it back up. But I wanted you to see it.

It is soft, but not as soft as all alpaca would be.  But the addition of the wool will give it some body and elasticity.  Alpaca alone can be kind of droopy.  I think the color is pretty too.

This whole process is a bit slower on drop spindles instead of on the wheel, but I had a project on the wheel already, and not enough bobbins to just take the other project off and put this one on.  Also, I have an ankle that sometimes doesn’t work as it should.  I think it has some arthritis in it (makes a great clicking noise sometimes).  And it makes it hard to work the wheel.  Ironically, using my spinning wheel seems to snap my ankle back into place.  So it hurts at first, then it works itself out the longer I spin.  Isn’t 40 great?

Anyway, finished yarn, onto the next project!  What a lot of steps there are in making a skein of yarn.

One thought on “All done!

  1. Certainly does stop the complaining about the price of hand spun yarn and elevates the appreciation level. Keep up the good work as it is definitely a labor of love and you get all kinds of kudos from here!!!

Leave a Reply

