Another Snowy Tuesday

Winter seems to have set in with some regularity now up here in the mountains.  The last several Tuesdays have been snowy and gray.  No real accumulation, just messy enough to not want to leave the house.  It has been snowing all day and has accumulated to just about nothing. 

Tuesdays are my regular day off, so this is just fine with me.  They have become a crafting day.  Please don’t confuse the lack of posts about finished projects with the idea that I haven’t been finishing anything.  I have actually been quite productive lately.  But since some of the things I have been working on are gifts, I really can’t show them yet. 

What I can show is something that I worked on today.  I found this pretty ugly shirt in the lost and found at the laundromat.  I really like the color, but I have never liked the whole golf shirt collar thing.  I don’t find them flattering on me.  I feel like they make my neck look short and stocky.  I don’t need any help with that from an ugly shirt.  When I picked this up I originally thought it would make good t-shirt yarn (yet another topic for another day).  But the more I looked at it, the more I liked the way the orange and brown mixed together.

Isn’t it ugly?  So I have made a few alterations, and it is now something that I will wear.

First I cut off the offending collar.  I threw it away, but then thought better of it and fished it out of the trash.  I wanted the buttons from it.  Not the collar itself.  I have had a few t-shirts like this before where I just cut the neck part off (sometimes the neckband is really high or too tight compared to the rest of the shirt).  But what I find is that the neck tends to stretch out throughout the day.  By the end of the day it is sliding off your shoulder.  This is fine if you intend it as a pj top, but not great if you are at work.  So some sort of binding is needed.

Up there in the crap craft room I have bunches of odds and ends of fabric.  I looked at several pieces before settling on this satiny hem binding.  The color works okay and there was no need of hemming a piece of fabric to work with (I don’t like unfinished edges when sewing).

The icky collar before I cut the buttons off.  Now it is in the trash.

I think the orange buttons look nice against the pink-ish/cream-ish binding.

I folded over the binding and pressed it with the iron.  I think this is a good time to talk about ironing in sewing.  I think the most important tool when sewing is–not the sewing machine even–but the iron.  You can sew by hand if you don’t have a machine.  It is slow and tedious, but can be done.  But without the iron and carefully pressing all of your pieces before and after sewing, it all just looks like junk.  If the edges are pressed, then it looks professional and finished.  I’ve tried doing it without the iron, ironing takes as long as the sewing does after all, but it just doesn’t come out right.  Do it.  You won’t regret it.

And voila……a shirt that I will wear.

I like the button detail too.  Happy snow day everyone!

6 thoughts on “Another Snowy Tuesday

  1. I am proud to be your Mum!!! That is a BEAUTIFUL shirt and the ingenuity that went into making it is amazing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I got your post card today-did you print it?

    Love You!

  2. That is amazing…..heck I know a genius! And I love the buttons on binding too.
    Did you know orange is “IN” this year. What wonderful creativity. I can’t tell, is the fabric a Hawaiian print or oriental?

  3. YES! I agree completely with all the comments about the Great Job you did on that Shirt! Sad thing for me is ,the colors on my monitor are out of whack so I cannot see the lively orange and green that it is. But you did create a unique shirt just right for you. Did you ever think of getting on “Project Runway”? You have talent, Girl! By by, aunty V(or is it auntie V) ??? Don”t remember—getting OLD…

  4. I agree with your Mum and my sister. The shirt is great. I think you got the creative genes from both sides of the family. If my sister is Auntie V, I guess I’ll coulbd be Auntie S,

Leave a Reply

