Luna Lace Scarf

This is the project currently on the needles.  This is the first time I have tried any sort of lace project.  This is really a very simple two-line repeat.  And one of those lines is “knit”.  It has taken me about this far (10 inches maybe) to have the other line committed to memory.  And it really is a simple repeat.  I’m not great at memorizing, especially things that form patterns (which should make it easier, but not for me).  I think it’s a good project to start with though.  And it’s NOT a hat.

The pattern is from the book Shear Spirit by Joan Tapper and Gale Zucker.  Published by Potter Craft.  Copyright 2008.

Shear Spirit: Ten Fiber Farms, Twenty Patterns, and Miles of Yarn

http://www.amazon.com/Shear-Spirit-Fiber-Twenty-Patterns/dp/0307394034

This is all handspun yarn.  I spun the gray a long time ago, when I first started spinning.  I had purchased an entire fleece, not knowing what I had gotten myself into.  As a brand new beginner spinner, I really had no business buying a whole fleece.  I had no idea how to clean it or what to do with a whole trash bag full of raw wool.  And more importantly, I had no one to teach me what to do with it either.  At the time I didn’t realize that this might be an issue. 

What amazes me now when I look at yarn from the very beginning is how fine it was.  I went from spinning big-clunky-barely-recognizable-as-yarn-yarn to spinning this super fine lace weight stuff.  It is so even and thin.  Where did that come from?  How did I do that?  I don’t spin like that now.  Not without a lot of effort and concentration.  The pink that starts out the scarf is some more recent spinning.  It is a mix of alpaca (not good quality) and wool.  The alpaca was given to me, and was more of a hair that a fleece quality.  It was something that I dyed myself, then spun. 

Since I am still having to focus on the pattern repeat as I knit it, it is not a good project for knitting while watching a movie.  I have been trying to do that tonight, and I keep having to go back and figure out where I am. 

This is an interesting book, too.  It explores 10 different fiber farms across the US.  Even one in Maine.  The patterns are fairly simple and cover a wide variety of projects.  A nice addition to my very small but growing knitting library.  It was on discount at Mr. Paperback in Skowhegan.  http://www.mrpaperback.com/93-skowhegan/.  Less than 8$.  Good deal. Actually not such a good deal.  I just checked out the prices on Amazon, New from under 6$ and used for less than a buck.  Seems I should be paying more attention to Amazon.  hmmmm……..

Leave a Reply

